Pa-software community
Help, support and conversation
Welcome! ( login | register )
 
  Forum » ID3 Editor » MP3 file problems » Could not open the file
 

Pages: << prev 1 next >>
Could not open the file
This member is currently offline real
Newbie


Member Level

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: Mar 14, 2010

Add real to your buddy list Send an email to real Visit real's web site Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

If I drag'n drop a folder from my CIFS share to the ID3 Editor I always get an Error "Could not open the file" with an explanation:

Error Domain=NSCocoaErrorDomain Code=256 UserInfo=0x155b20
"The file "XYZ" couldn't be opened."


After that message I'm able to edit the common tags of the files inside that folder and update them without any problems.

Regards
René

Edit: Same if I try to drag'n drop a folder from my desktop to the ID3 Editor.

Posted Mar 14, 2010, 6:15 am Last edited Mar 14, 2010, 6:39 am by real
This member is currently offline Riverside
Newbie


Member Level

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: Mar 21, 2011

Add Riverside to your buddy list Send an email to Riverside Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

This is old, but should be answered.

I don't believe ID3 Editor supports folder drag and drop.

You should use File > Open Group to select mulitple files to edit all at once, or you can drag and drop multiple files, which will open an editor for each file, which will have to be edited one at a time.

Posted Mar 21, 2011, 7:24 pm
This member is currently offline jamesrae
Member


Member Level

Group: Moderators
Posts: 64
Joined: Dec 13, 2008

Add jamesrae to your buddy list Send an email to jamesrae Send a personal messsage to jamesrae Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

You are correct, this question should have been answered.

The CIFS error is more than likely a sync issue between Finder and CIFS and would not be produced if the menu options are used. I would also check that the built-in firewall is not causing the communication issue.

With regards to dropping a folder, this will open the group editor if the folder contains the tracks and they are not in a folder in the folder you are dropping.
.........................
James Rae
Pa-software support

Posted Mar 24, 2011, 9:46 am
This member is currently offline Riverside
Newbie


Member Level

Group: Members
Posts: 6
Joined: Mar 21, 2011

Add Riverside to your buddy list Send an email to Riverside Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

jamesrae said:
You are correct, this question should have been answered.

The CIFS error is more than likely a sync issue between Finder and CIFS and would not be produced if the menu options are used. I would also check that the built-in firewall is not causing the communication issue.

With regards to dropping a folder, this will open the group editor if the folder contains the tracks and they are not in a folder in the folder you are dropping.


Sorry, you are correct. I realized after I answered this, that I had been attempting to move multiple FILES, not entire folders, into the editor, which does not open them as a group.

I do get the same results as the OP though, when dropping a folder. Same error, but seems to open all the appropriate files anyway, and edits them just fine. Sounds like a simple error handler would get rid of the unnecessary message?

Posted Mar 25, 2011, 2:05 pm
This member is currently offline jamesrae
Member


Member Level

Group: Moderators
Posts: 64
Joined: Dec 13, 2008

Add jamesrae to your buddy list Send an email to jamesrae Send a personal messsage to jamesrae Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

This has been fixed for the new version (1.16.12).

If you would like to try this version prior to the release please contact support.
.........................
James Rae
Pa-software support

Posted Mar 31, 2011, 10:42 am
Pages: << prev 1 next >>