Pa-software community
Help, support and conversation
Welcome! ( login | register )
 
  Forum » ID3 Editor » MP3 file problems » Command line trial
 

Pages: << prev 1 next >>
Command line trial, Command line still in trial mode
This member is currently offline kotuha
Newbie


Member Level

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: Oct 21, 2013

Add kotuha to your buddy list Send an email to kotuha Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

Hi there,

I wanted to play around with the id3edcmd binary on Mac OS X. I've purchased a license and ID3 Editor itself is working perfectly fine. However, after copying the idedcmd file and calling it, I get the following output:

Quote:
# ID3 Editor CMD Version 1.20.20 (1.11.43.258)
This trial version has been launched too may times.


How can I solve this problem and make sure that the command line utility recognizes my license?

Looking at ID3 Editor, it's registered in my name. (Order number )

Thanks for any help!

Regards,
Steven

Posted Oct 21, 2013, 10:40 pm Last edited Oct 21, 2013, 10:57 pm by admin
This member is currently offline jamesrae
Member


Member Level

Group: Moderators
Posts: 64
Joined: Dec 13, 2008

Add jamesrae to your buddy list Send an email to jamesrae Send a personal messsage to jamesrae Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

Are you using the CLI (id3edcmd) on a different machine or as a different user? As it would only show the warning if it could not find the preferences file or did not have premission to read it.

One option is to place the preferences file in the same folder as the CLI. If this does not help, could you contact support so that we can help you further.
.........................
James Rae
Pa-software support

Posted Oct 21, 2013, 11:03 pm
This member is currently offline kotuha
Newbie


Member Level

Group: Members
Posts: 2
Joined: Oct 21, 2013

Add kotuha to your buddy list Send an email to kotuha Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

Hi James,

Thank you for your quick response!

A day and a reboot later, and I get no error messages anymore - it's working as it's supposed to. I copied id3edcmd into /usr/bin and am using it as the same user on the same machine.

Should've tried restarting first then, apparently :-)

Thank you for your help - it's working perfectly now.

Best regards,
Steven

Posted Oct 22, 2013, 1:32 pm
This member is currently offline ice9
Newbie


Member Level

Group: Members
Posts: 1
Joined: Dec 6, 2013

Add ice9 to your buddy list Send an email to ice9 Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

I am running Mac OS 10.7. How can I copy the executable to /usr/bin or any /usr sub-directory for that matter? I get permission denied. Those directories are owned by root.

Posted Dec 6, 2013, 3:06 pm
This member is currently offline jamesrae
Member


Member Level

Group: Moderators
Posts: 64
Joined: Dec 13, 2008

Add jamesrae to your buddy list Send an email to jamesrae Send a personal messsage to jamesrae Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

You can use sudo to give temporary root privileges (this assumes you have admin rights) or you can place the CLI in ~/bin instead.

If you reference the CLI directly you can put it anywhere for example, if it is in your documents folder you would just run it with ~/Documents/id3edcmd 'an.mp3'.
.........................
James Rae
Pa-software support

Posted Dec 6, 2013, 5:38 pm
This member is currently offline John
Newbie


Member Level

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: May 31, 2014

Add John to your buddy list Send an email to John Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

jamesrae said:
Are you using the CLI (id3edcmd) on a different machine or as a different user? As it would only show the warning if it could not find the preferences file or did not have premission to read it.

One option is to place the preferences file in the same folder as the CLI. If this does not help, could you contact support so that we can help you further.


But where this preferences file located? How to apply it? should be used -pref ?

I am suffering for three days with this program is not pleased that bought it!

Posted May 31, 2014, 11:58 pm
This member is currently offline John
Newbie


Member Level

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: May 31, 2014

Add John to your buddy list Send an email to John Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

I looked at the logs and saw a message:
2014-06-01 00:19:29: Error saving the license to the preferences 5
I do in this case?

Posted Jun 1, 2014, 12:25 am
This member is currently offline jamesrae
Member


Member Level

Group: Moderators
Posts: 64
Joined: Dec 13, 2008

Add jamesrae to your buddy list Send an email to jamesrae Send a personal messsage to jamesrae Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

The preference file path is ~/Library/Preferences/com.pas.id3editor.plist. If this does not contain the license i.e. a permissions issue is preventing the main application from updating the preferences, please contact support so that they can send you a preference file with the license already entered.

If you were only using the CLI and have not yet run the main application (GUI), you need to run the main application once just to enter the license.
.........................
James Rae
Pa-software support

Posted Jun 1, 2014, 3:29 pm
This member is currently offline John
Newbie


Member Level

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: May 31, 2014

Add John to your buddy list Send an email to John Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

Thanks for the answer!
Yes GUI application creates a file "com.pas.id3editor.plist" and it contains my name and license. I try to run the "id3edcmd -pref ~/Preferences/com.pas.id3editor.plist" but message is:

"Failed to locate a valid license
This is due to installing a new version without upgrading your license or not applying the new license after upgrading.
Note: The application will continue in the trial mode until the new license is entered using the GUI.
This trial version has been launched too many times."

I am from Russia. can be a problem in the coding?

Posted Jun 1, 2014, 3:47 pm
This member is currently offline jamesrae
Member


Member Level

Group: Moderators
Posts: 64
Joined: Dec 13, 2008

Add jamesrae to your buddy list Send an email to jamesrae Send a personal messsage to jamesrae Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

The CLI pref should work as you have described it, is it possible you are using an older version of the CLI? Does the result of running ide3dcmd -ver show 1.21.25?

Also, the encoding should not cause any issues as the license in in ASCII.
.........................
James Rae
Pa-software support

Posted Jun 1, 2014, 6:01 pm
This member is currently offline John
Newbie


Member Level

Group: Members
Posts: 4
Joined: May 31, 2014

Add John to your buddy list Send an email to John Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

Yes, this version is:
ID3 Editor version: 1.21.25 (1.13.52.271)

Posted Jun 1, 2014, 7:10 pm
This member is currently offline jamesrae
Member


Member Level

Group: Moderators
Posts: 64
Joined: Dec 13, 2008

Add jamesrae to your buddy list Send an email to jamesrae Send a personal messsage to jamesrae Reply with a quote from this post Go to the top of the page

This is an issue with the CLI under a Russian version of OS X where the preferences plist is not read correctly using the OS commands.
Using the preferences file id3edcmd.prefs in the same location as the CLI or in ~/Library/Preferences will fix the issue until it is fixed in the next release.
.........................
James Rae
Pa-software support

Posted Jun 2, 2014, 1:00 pm
Pages: << prev 1 next >>